Skip to content

That Sci-Fi Sound

July 14, 2015

ThereminReport

 

This semester I took a Microcontrollers Course where I learned about assembly language and C and about the properties and functions of a microcontroller.  For my final project I made two theremins using Arduino.  Above is the link to my report explaining the process, code and materials behind each theremin.

A theremin is an electronic musical instrument where the performer does not touch the instrument but still somehow controls the notes emitted.  The first approach I took was using a photocell to sense light intensity and turn that into the notes produced.  This was inspired from the Adafruit Lessons https://learn.adafruit.com/adafruit-arduino-lesson-10-making-sounds/arduino-code

My second approach involved using an Ultrasonic Range Finder that used the distance to determine the pitch produced and used a timer as the oscillator to create the audio signal.  This was inspired from a blog I found while searching different ways to create theremins. http://blog.jacobean.net/?p=766

No comments yet

Leave a comment